Travelling to Kharkov for the first time, looking for friendly faces.

Hi All,

Im travelling to Kharkov in early March and was wondering if there would be any friendly (english speaking) faces that might be interested in meeting up ?

To be honest...this is my first time ever travelling overseas so am  really shitting my pants about the whole thing....but that was the idea, to do something REALLY out of the box :)

I would appreciate any help regarding Hotels vs Appartments and how I might get around the city to see the sites.

Thanks

Glen

Hello Glen.

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

What kind of accommodation are you looking for?

Thank you,
Aurélie

Hi Aurélie,

To be perfectly honest, im not sure,  I think a Hotel or apartment would suit me best, maybe central to everything so that I can walk around instead of having to rely on my non existent Russian to communicate to Taxi's etc :)

My friends keep telling me horror stories of people always trying to scam or rip off tourists over there, from what I've seem Ukrainians seem very friendly, can you tell me if there is any truth to this ?

thanks for your reply!

Your first time ever Overseas, and you pick Kharkiv, Ukraine...in March...

and your Username: SirGollum - isn't that a reference to that creepy dude from that hoobit movie?

I don't think I wanna know why your going there..

ahaha, its for no reason other than adventure!  Im happy to tell the whole story if anyone wants...but its a bit boring :)

Hello Glen.

To note that the Housing in Ukraine section is at your disposal. Do not hesitate to post an advert there. :)

Thank you,
Aurélie

Hello,
Do not worry, Kharkov is a nice city! I just returned from my third trip there, and each time it gets better and better!!

Feel free to message me and I will give you my take on the best way you can make it through your day with out looking like a tourist!!