Need a lot of information & advice!!

My hubby & I are seeking a new adventure & a new way of life.  Everyday we feel stuck in the craziness of the world we've come to know.  We're seeking a slower paced life.  One we can actually love and enjoy.  We're hoping to be able to move within the next two years.  We have a lot of questions as we're just looking into everything.

1. What are the requirements these days for getting residency?  Is it hard to get a visa? We both would need to work. (aka - we're not rich)

2.  How hard is it to find work?  Are there any "in demand" jobs that pay well or at least pay decent?  I am a practical nurse in Canada (known as RPN or LPN).  Would it be better to get into teaching .... ???  What are nurse jobs like in DR?  Would a Cdn RPN/LPN get hired in DR??

3. We have pets!!  Is this an issue?

4. I hear a lot about crime.  Is there a lot of crime or is it like any big city (ex Toronto in Canada) ??  Is there a way to ensure safety??

Any information anyone has to offer would be greatly appreciated!!

Thank you!!

First off welcome to the forum. I will try to answer some of your questions. My wife and I "retired" here 7 years ago, and are living on the north coast betweeen Sosua and Cabarete.
Have you ever been here before and where did you visit?
1. Residency requiremnts have gotten a bit more difficult to obtain recently but still can be done without much difficulty, but now the process must be started in your  home country with an application for a resdident visa.
2.Work can be hard to find and pay is usually very low. An LPN could expect to earn $250-$300 a MONTH at a hospital and maybe a small amount more in a private clinic.  The "demand" jobs are hard to find for "gringos" and are usually in the tourist industry or IT industry.
3. Pets are not an issue and you can bring your cats and dogs with very little difficulty. The just need papers (health and recetn rabies vac.)