Residence status

I hope someone can offer me some advice regarding obtaining Residence Status in Romania.

I'll try to be brief, although the situation has become complicated.

I have been teaching at a local establishment since September 2012, however there has been an ongoing problem regarding payment / contract issues. Initially, no contract was offered. When there were payment difficulties, I was able to continue working and support myself while they were 'sorting it out'
The upshot is that I have now been offered an ongoing 'monthly' contract which, I am assured, gets over the issue of me not yet having residence status (and payment was finally made)

My questions are:

(1) Will a 'Monthly' contract along with Proof of address be sufficient for applying to get residence?

(2) Surely, having continued to teach (in order to secure payment) for BEYOND 90 days has seriously compromised my situation?

I'll admit that getting information has been far harder than I expected, and this is why, through all the set-backs, I have stuck at it.. to try and resolve it (as well as not wishing to abandon the students I've made progress with!)

I'm aware of the official residence requirements, but have repeatedly been assured that it was not a problem. I should have questioned things earlier!

Hopefully I can begin to sort out the confusion, with a little help.

Thanks

M

Hello countrylad.

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

Hope you'll get some useful informations soon.

Thank you,
Aurélie

Hi,

Looking at your profile, I'm guessing your English and therefore an EU citizen. If so, then you can get your residency certificate without a work contract. It really only takes a day to register and it's enough to show them a bank statement with 125 RON in your account, and the other docs (proof of address etc).