Life in Lubum

After 10 days in Lubumbashi, I can report with a great deal of enthusiasm about this City, which is a lot better to live in than anticipated. Everything one would need is available here.  You just have to know where to look and not be afraid to ask.  My French is very bad, but despite that, the local people are friendly and extremely willing to help. Price in the more obviously Western shops are very high - the same goes for the smarter restaurants that are frequented by Expats. But if you are willing to shop in the local market places and eat in the smaller restaurants, it is not bad at all. Bakeries stock fantastic breads and pastries and there are good pizza and Indian restaurants around.  If anybody needs advise on where to eat and shop, please feel free to contact me:-). On the other hand, what I do find difficult to source, is a job for myself as an 'expat-wife'.  Altough I am a very experienced Operations Manager in the Hospitality field, there does not seem to be anything, however small that I can do - even on a partime basis.  If anybody out there can assist with advise on this matter, I will be very happy. Every place in the World has good and bad points.  What is important for us as expats is to embrace the changes that we actually choose in coming to a foreign country and make the most of our time there. looking forward to contact from others in Lubum :-)

Hello meganinafrica.

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Aurélie

Hi Megan
I am a South African christian who is being lead to the DRC through many messages.
I feel that I will be helping women, that have been abused or widowed and wondered if you know of any organisations there that may need help?
Are you still living in Lumbumbashi?
Thank you so much for hearing me out!I am so excited to be embarking on this journey.
warm wishes
Fiona Koch
Durban
0027 83 6822524

Hi Fiona
I think you need to get the stars out of your eyes for a moment :-)