Will be in Latvia for 11months!

Hello guys and girls. I'm a student from Ireland but I'm unsure of what career path to take so I've decided on doing volunteer work in Latvia(Cēsis). I don't speak Latvian except for the general phrases  but I'll have a tutor over in Latvia for the duration of my stay. I will be working with disadvantaged youths from the Cēsis area which is something I'm excited about.

As I am quite young and outgoing, I'd really like to know of social possibilities within Cēsis. I've been before and although a very beautiful town doesn't seem to have any activities for young people.

Also I am wondering if there is a gym within Cēsis town. I'd like to keep fit within latvia but due to working in Cēsis for the 11 months I'd like to find a gym close by.

Finally, I'm going on Feb 4th of next month and I believe it's -15 degrees  over there in places. What kind of warm clothes would you suggest me bringing.

paldies,

Justin :)

Hi Justin !

Welcome to Expat.com!

Armand

Hey Justin,

I'm not in Česis, rather in Rīga, but Česis is pretty cool.

I can't confirm, but it is rare for any decent sized town to not have a gym.  Česis has a pretty strong outdoor sports emphasis, but in the cold people train indoors.

Try searching for the LV works: sports klubs fitnes
Some popular gym franchises include: city fitnes, atletika, ... ?
Also note that some hotels will offer you a membership at their gym (the larger ones.)

About the weather, you're correct about the temperatures.  Make sure that you bring a decent winter jacket.  You can buy anything here, but popular brands etc will be more expensive here than in EU (maybe not compared to the UK though.)  Go for something waterproof with a hood, with a decent insulation layer.  If your sporty then get one of the skiing type jackets which deal well with sweating in cold weather (but isn't as warm overall.)

The rest you can get here: