Am I entitled to a Maltese I.D card and how do I go about getting one?

I was born in London, my Mother is Maltese, my father was also born in London but his parents are both Maltese. My parents are now divorced and my mother and step-father moved to Malta 2 years ago. I consider my home address as their address in Malta as my accommodation in Scotland is only temporary Uni accommodation. I am in my final year at University, and in July I am going to move here permanently. I am also in Malta every holiday I get, ranging from 2 and a half months in summer to a week or so in my mid-semester breaks.

So I have a few questions:

1) Am I entitled to a Maltese passport? I have had a look and apparently I have to have an I.D card before I can apply.

2) Am I entitled to an I.D card?

3)Am I/will I be entitled to vote once I live here? Again from what I've read and heard Alien I.D card holders cannot vote in Malta.

4) When should I apply for residency?

I realise I've asked multiple questions in one go and it might be a bit confusing so I appologise. Should I delete the question and do separate ones? I just need someone to spell it out to me because I've been looking into this for months and am no further forward. And I don't know what to apply for first and when.

Sorry about my approach to this, I am completely new to the blogging world! :)

Contact the Malta High Commission.
See here for their services.

http://www.foreign.gov.mt/default.aspx?MDIS=407

Thank you redmik, this has been extremely helpful.
Just had a quick browse and from what I can gather my first steps should be to apply for Maltese citizenship. :)

If you are an EU citizen you can move and live there anyway.
You may be able to do all that when you are visiting?

you dont need citizenship - just e-residency and you can apply for that after the 15th January 2013.

Hi Toon, I think that Jessamy wants to connect with her Maltese 'roots' and wants to become nationalised.