Lucky money

what does it mean, when is it given, how much and to whom ?

For some strange reason giving a US$2 paper money is considered lucky money.  I have to bring about 50 of them when I visit during Tet.

vietnamese call it ": tiền lì xì" it means " lucky money"
in fact its just a little bit,but now it depend, if your family is rich, "lucky money" will be a lot.
comonmly, just children have beeb recieved lucky money,but sometime,lucky money means help, like...im a student, some my relative will give me some money like lucky money.
now im 22, i havent lucky money, huhu

@miss nguyen, now u should give out the lĩxi :))

hahaha, tet is really an oppotunity to rasie money, right?
of course just when we were young.

Panda7,

Li xi is similar to Christmas gift givings and New Year bonuses.  You are responsible to all those who are younger or inferior to you.  The amount is the value of each, to you.  You don't want to give soneone, whom you just met, more than those who had gone through thick and thin with you. 

Whatever you do, don't li xi people who are older or superior to you.  They might take that as a sign of disrespect on your part.

Wild_1 wrote:

Panda7,

Whatever you do, don't li xi people who are older or superior to you.  They might take that as a sign of disrespect on your part.

That must mean you get alot of them Wild_1.

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYBODY.

Strangely, it originated from the Chinese.
Strange = Chinese giving away money?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_envelope

Today, it is common for children (grown up adults) to give red packets to their parents as a sign of filial piety and gratitude.
Traditionally, Lucky Money should be BRAND NEW bank notes for presentation.
Red packets/Lucky money is also given at the start of a new venture like the birth of a child, a wedding, startup of a business as a wish of good luck.