ESL job prospects for non-native English speakers & non-Caucasians

I have a Bachelor degree from an Australian university & a TESOL certificate issued by the London Teacher's Training College. By right, these qualifications should be able to land me a job in HCMC.

However, I noticed that most of the language schools who are hiring here show a strong preference for native English speakers (some require even less qualifications than what I have mentioned above).

My question is: What are the ESL job prospects for people like myself, who are non-Caucasians & also classified as non-native English speakers (even though I speak English as my first language in my home country)?

visothsumtw wrote:

I have a Bachelor degree from an Australian university & a TESOL certificate issued by the London Teacher's Training College. By right, these qualifications should be able to land me a job in HCMC.

However, I noticed that most of the language schools who are hiring here show a strong preference for native English speakers (some require even less qualifications than what I have mentioned above).

My question is: What are the ESL job prospects for people like myself, who are non-Caucasians & also classified as non-native English speakers (even though I speak English as my first language in my home country)?

Many English learners in English centers don't finish high school  yet. Most of those prefer Caucasian teachers to non-Caucasian ones. Its the learners' preference.

Ofcourse there are ESL job prospects for people like you.

It's a poor criterion on which to decide a good teacher.

I know of students taught by a German who all have a distinctive Germanic accent. I met two your Vietnamese who had a strong Cockney accent (from a less pleasant part of London, England) and, when I inquired, told me that learned English from this 'guy from London' and ever since people have been asking whereabouts in London they are from.