My headscarf one HUGE problem!

Hello dear expats,

As the title of my post indicates, my headscarf is an obstacle for me to find a job, in a so ' called" muslim coutry.

I'm a young English teacher, with an experience of 2 years but yet, can't find a job.
I thought that the only problem I'm going to face is my lack of the Turkish language, though now, I'm learning it, but it seems that I was mistaken.
I'm faced with refusal, or an option of " just take it off in the calssroom" or wear a " wig" ! and that's just out of disscussion.

what do you think ?

Hi bonnoise,
I think you better look for job in areas like Fatih or Eyup.. Also there are some Vakıf which offers English courses for their studnts. Maybe they can hire you. But I have no idea about their salaries.
good luck..

Thank you for your response ABJSYD, but can you be more precise ?

Hi maybe you can find a tutor jobs? Just post an ad on every single site you can find. I think hourly it will pay more.

sunsetglow wrote:

Hi maybe you can find a tutor jobs? Just post an ad on every single site you can find. I think hourly it will pay more.

thx,  yeah, I'm posting everywhere, still...

well i'll say welcome to Turkey!
this wont be the only obstacle that you'll face because of your hejab believe me. you might come across so many disrespectful people who will call you backward while it's them who are the actual backwards ;) luckily though, the community is getting better thanks to the government that we have now..
i agree with ABJSYED.. there are so many "Vakıf"s that offer private language courses. i'll inbox you a couple of names later :)

Good luck Bonnoise!!! As you said, it's amazing that in a muslim country, a woman should face difficulties in getting a job because of her headscarf.
Even in England or in the US, scarfed women work without problem!!

it could be a problem in teaching field NOT in other fields .