Living in Dubai

:D Hello, my family and I have relocated to Dubai form the USA in January of 2007. I have read a few threads, and they are not the slightly bit accurate (at least the one I've read).

So, if there's anyone with a question or two, post it here and I'll try to answer as best as I can!

Is it really harsh living in Dubai as a women?

Chanel, harsh in what way? The weather in summer is harsh, that's all, nothng else is harsh. I think you're mistaking Dubai for Saudi Arabia.

I have been travelling in & out of Dubai since 2002. I have lived in 6 cities in 6 countries in the last 10 odd years, have travelled extensively in Mid-East, North & East Africa & South East Asia as well .. so I can tell you that women in Dubai do not live like those women in the post-conflict countires I have lived in nor those countries I have visited. You see women in mini skirts on one hand and women in abaya on the other. As a woman, I have often travelled to Dubai alone with no problems at all. It's matter of choice for the expat women, if that is your question.

I was offered a job in Dubai.  I was just wondering if you could give me some advice on moving.  I'm trying to think of all the questions I should ask before accepting this job.  I just want to make the right decision.

jm-walters, the most important thing is to get accommodation as part of the package. At the very least, make sure you get a good accommodation allowance with an increase each year. If you have children you need to get schooling as part of the package too because that's also expensive..

My company will be paying for housing, food, and transportation.  Just thinking unforeseen cost.