Language Books

Hi,

Been living in Latvia (Liepaja) since June, my wife is Latvian and our children are bi-lingual. I have been coming to Latvia for the last 15 years, but we remained firmly settled in London.
Finally my wife yearned for home and I thought "why not". I love it here and still have the back-up of a business in England, this means I commute a lot which can be tough.
My biggest problem is learning the language, in the past we never stayed for long enough but now I want to get the hang of it. I have basic knowledge and can get by in shops, bars etc but I am nowhere near conversational.
What I need is lessons but they are non-existent down here in Liepaja, can anyone recommend books, CD's etc. There are is fair choice on the interweb but I want to start off with something useful and not spend too much time trying one course after another.

Visu labu

Steve

Hi Steve and welcome to Expat.com!

Hope that other members will help you soon.;)

Harmonie.

Hi Steve!

I'm new to this forum but I'm in a similar situation with regards to learning Latvian, although you're clearly more advanced than I am! I'll be proposing to my girlfriend over the Christmas period and plan to move out to Riga some time next year so I'd love to try and get and good grasp of the language. Anyhow, just thought I'd add support to your post and state that I too would sincerely appreciate it if anyone could recommend some good learning materials!

Oh, and best of luck with your move!

OK guys, here is some help:

"Latvian" from the "teach yourself" series:  This is a good comprehenive book from a native speaker.  It has a good introduction with lot's of simple words to learn, and a complete grammar collection, with quick notes at the back for things liek conjugation.  You can buy the book on it's own, or with the accompanying audio discs.