Leaning Hungarian

Just curious if anyone has any good suggestions for someone or a place who could teach me Hungarian in the Budapest area. I'm a complete beginner but would only need to get the basics down as once I get that I can rely on my girlfriend and her mum with the rest as they are more used to teaching the intermediate level.

Also any information on standard prices would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Katedra language school has courses for  beginners and more advanced speakers. I took a basic course there in the summer of 2007, it was two evnings a week I think and it was pretty good. I think it costed about 32 000 HUF for 8 weeks (16 lessons) but I know there are several other language schools too and plenty of Hungarians who hold private lessons (which I personally prefer and often is cheaper).

I can strongly recommend this one - it's in Gellert hotel area. It's a small school with good teachers, in my experience.

InterClub Hungarian Language School
1111 Budapest, Bertalan Lajos u. 17.
T: (+36 1) 279-0831; (+36) 20 370 2608
T/Fax: (+36 1) 365-2535
[email protected]

Can anyone suggest a good intensive beginners summer school for Hungarian in BALATON - say a course of 1 or 2 weeks only - in say, June or July? I only saw one on the Internet so far. Suggestions?

How about a coursebook for the grammar and to flash as a conversation peace when mingling on the beach?

We are extremely proud of our language, and how difficult it is to learn, you'll have flocks of people explaining you everything.
Just give it a try sometime, seriously!