Possible to leave a life behind?

I'm a healthy older guy who's worked all his life and now at age 60 retired from radio broadcasting.  Very interested in life in Taiwan, possibly teaching English and at the same time, learning Mandarin.  I've been studying it for a few years now and it's making sense to me.  :-)

How and where do I begin to start fresh there?  Thanks!

Hello baba pengyou.

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

Hope other members will be able to advise you.

Thank you,
Aurélie

Thank you, Aurelie, me too.
I'm very interested in learning how to transfer money and find a place to live.

Ni hao,

I was in your situation a couple of years ago, I've just posted "Living in Taichung - Helpful advice" on the noticeboard.

Check it out, I'm happy to answer any question you may have

In regards in transferring money if you have a maestro,cirrus or eftpos card (check the back of any of your cards - bottom right) you can use them over here *bank charges apply! (short term solution)

Then as soon as you get up and running you'll be able to open up a local bank account with the required paperwork - address, ARC number, employment etc - once you have the BSB number and account details you can transffer into that.

Hope that helps
James

Hi,

I am a local, just read ur message. But someone already answerd ur questions. Hope everything will be ok with you. I live in the south of Taiwan,near Kaohsiung. If you come to Taiwan and settle down and travel to Pingtung or Kaohsiung. U are welcome to visit me. Have a very good time here :-)

Best wishes

Peteryu

I want to do the same thing.  I'm 66, retired and I desperately want to immigrate to Taiwan for the rest of my life.  I love the Island and the people. There are three issues which make this dream a nightmare: