Is it true?

Hi guys,

I just heard from my husbands sister that it's forbidden for a husband to be with his wife during childbirth? I am expecting and don't speak Arabic and completely relying on my husband on my bedside. Since day one I have not been comfortable with  doctors or nurses atleast the hospital im getting my prenatal visits . Truly so far not once in over three months they ever took my vitals. And finally I demanded for one. It seems it's so much work for nurses, they rush thru everything n don't even know the simplest task of taking any vital signs. They always sit n chat around n when asked to do their jobs, seems too much for them:-/ like taking blood pressure or UA dips n such. I am myself An EMT at trauma Centre back in California. I did these for a living n reviving dead people back to life mostly!. Tho Obviously I cannot compare the service standards of US with Jordan. But I'm freaking out if this statement is true. Do they make acceptions for foreigners that husbands attend birth n be the main support. My husbands my only comfort n I cannot do this without him. Otherwise we will return back to states to deliver. However, anyone know of any good hospitals or doctors in Amman for OBGYN care. And pediatricians? I am currently in Al-husn, irbid, and using services from king Abdullah in Ar ramtha.

Will appreciate any feedback

Thank you
R

Congratulations to you... I am a mother of three boys..and I delivered them all in Amman... and as far as I know my husband was allowed to be with me during delivery... it was just him that couldn't bear the sight of blood and all.. instead my mother-in-law was with me in all three occasions..  husband was in the labour ward though.. just not beside me.  I went to Khalidi Hospital in Jabal Amman and they served me good.. and I don't speak fluent Arabic either. So, I guess it is better to check with the  hospital where you intend to deliver the baby. Best of luck :)