How to marry in Egypt? Also I'm a newbie here

Hello,

Need some big help...
After a 3 year relationship it's time to get married.
Applied for a 6 month marriage visitor visa for my Egyptian fiance
to come to the UK but unfortunately it was refused so wedding here
is cancelled.
Next step is to marry in Egypt but I don't even know where to start
I'm still living in UK an after marriage will be moving to Egypt.
We are also both Christian.

Can advice be given?

Kind Regards

Victoria :)

Hi Victoria,

welcome to Expat.com! :)

You may check other threads on Egypt forum as well.

Best of luck,
Christine

Hi christine.
I got married here in egypt and is was very simple and easy.
I found this website with a few bits of info on it.
Hope it helps.Feel free to ask and other questions if needed :)

Hi,

All great so how to start?
where do we go from here? papers etc?

I got married in Egypt and its not simple and its certainly not easy and can be very long and tiring. BUT if you know what you're doing, what you need and where to go - there are many places so have taxi money! - then its not impossible.

Sorry I don't have the memory to hep with exact details but there are posts on here that can help you and Google is a great tool as well as the respected Consulates involved.

Good luck :D

first of all, if you are a British citizen, try to get your certificate of no impediment BEFORE you leave.
You can also obtain it from the British Embassy in Cairo.

In order to use the NIC obtained from registry in UK must be apostilled by FCO (see their website, takes a few days), afterwards has to be attested by the Egyptian Consulate in London.

All this can be done by post, and through an Apostille services agency (google it).

You do not have to translate your documents into Arabic, if they are in English.

If you ahem been married before and have divorced, you need to bring your original Absolute Decree, (Apostilled + Embassy attestation).