Cost of Visa extension.

Hello all,

I'm new to abu dhabi and recently migrated here in 22nd July with my husband and son. I already have my resident but not yet receive my labor contract. My husband and son is currently on their visit visa that obtained during arrival at the airport.

Appreciate if someone could advice how they get a visa extension? From my reading I found there's way they can obtain the extension by exiting to Oman and enter back within the same day. Any idea how much cost that incurred for that process per person? Another way is to request for extension but the thing I'm not sure that should be done at the Immigration dept or can be done at the airport and at what cost?

Thanks in advanced.

Hi tripleA and welcome to Expat.com!

A new thread has been created on Abu Dhabi forum for better visibility.;)

Hope that you'll soon be enlightened.:)

Harmonie.

You van extend an existing visit visa by applying to the immigration department.  I am not sure how much it costs but ive heard it costs 500 Dhs per person.  You need to call and ask them.

Driving to oman is another alternative.  I think the omani visa cost 200 dhs per person, however, its best to make a day trip out of it aswell.

Just a side issue.  Are you going to sponsor your family? or is your husband going to work?  I ask because its very difficult for women to sponsor husbands and children (unless things have changed since i last looked).

Hi Giasi,

I read their website and it stated that per person/visa will be 600AED and comparing to do exit and enter Oman is cheaper. Contacted one guy that doing carlift to Oman, the visa now cost 50AED.   

Yes I am planning to sponsor my husband and son. I'm waiting for my labour contract to be ready. My husband yet to fnd for job until our son able to be enrolled for a nursery. Some women manage to sponsor their husband and kid. I was hoping it's going to be less trouble or none at all for my application later.