Teaching English

Hello. Would anybody be able to inform of all the necessary steps/ requirements/ overall process to become a teacher of English in a school in Kuwait? What are the best websites to find those jobs? Public vs private school? How much salary can I expect to make? Anything..

I'm an American. I have a Bachelors degree, although it was not in teaching.

Thanks so much :)

U just have to apply directly in schools if u re living in Kuwait , u re a native speaker they ll take you fr kindergarten / try first the English playgroup ( primary) at Salmiya I know they take native speakers .
I used to teach kg in salwa
You can try Kuwait English school , and gulf English school
Good luck

Linouly - thank you for your response. I am not yet living in Kuwait. My husband will be arriving in Kuwait soon to work as a contractor out there. So I wanted to see what kind of job I can easily get in Kuwait myself to make some money. I thought about teaching English in one of their schools would be a good option for a native American.

Would I be able to apply for these teaching jobs even though I am not yet living in Kuwait ?

Thanks

you can apply for teaching jobs online if you wish - there are always posts by schools requiring teachers.

however, unfortunately, experience and a degree are required in order to become a teacher at a school (i think, SaharEl can elaborate further, she is our resident teacher on the forum with the answer to all ur Q's)

what i can answer tho is you need not worry about Public Vs. Private. you have 0 chance of landing a job in the public sector schools, its mostly staffed by Arab nationals who can attempt (and fail miserably) to control to the rowdy kids there.

try looking for centers/institutes that teach english as a foreign language, that could be an opening for you.

get to the country first and then worry about finding employment :P take it one step at a time.