Working in Cebu

Dear forum members

I'm Werner , currently living in Belgium.
I'm already married with a filipina woman for 11 years.
Unfortuantly we where not so lucky in live , we have 2 children with a severe handicap , i say 2 children but already 1 of the 2 already died on the age of 5 because of a genetic problem.
Our daughter who will become 10 years old this August is also very handicap but we realize that a warm envirroment will be better for her and will improve her life.
We have already an accomodation in Cebu , but ofcourse its crucial also i can find a job overthere.
So i'm a little bit affraid to move because of the medical help and what to expect.
Can anybody inform me , and/or help us how to move overthere?
I don't need financial help , i only need a job (i'm an IT manager) and the inssurance so i can find the proper medication and food (gastrical feeding) for my daughter because thats very inportant.
Please give me some advice so we can go on with our lives.
Thank you very much in advance

Hi and welcome to Expat.com Werner !

I hope the forum members will be able to help you out soon.

Regards
Armand

Hi Werner,

Welcome to Expat.com, and to the Cebu. There are plenty of call centers here that has IT positions but I would have to inform you ahead that the pay scale is not the same as European and US. For managerial functions, they usually range around $1000 and you are lucky to have $1500. Most of the expats though open their own businesses here so as to keep up with the expenses.

Healthcare is not also an issue here. We have internationally recognized hospitals in the city and there are plenty of professional healthcare providers like nurses and doctors.

I have two filipina friends who are both married to Belgian Nationals and they are living a good life here. Hope everything will turn out for the best for you. Just PM me if you have other questions.

Rica