From US to Egypt!!

Hello everyone!

let me introduce myself, My name is Tawanna from the US and I am excited to be making the big move in relocating my family: two kids and husband to Egypt. I am a registered nurse and he is a computer networker and we both chose to make the move for both different scenery and jobs. Believe it or not, it's hard to find jobs in the US. We both traveled to different countries before, and we wanted to come to Egypt because of it's deep ancient history. I wanted to know any tips on the job market. I am interested in teaching as well.

welcome tawanna.. I am also from the US. :-)

Hi Layla,

I wanted to know what was your biggest challenge in moving to Egypt, leaving family, work, friends, etc. How did you face those challenges.

I think getting used to the culture and customs. what seemed normal to me was not normal for Egypt. Also the heat.. it took a few years to get used to it especially with dressing modestly. but I find its good because its protection from the sun. there's reasons to wear veils and headscarves besides religion. the desert wear lol

tawanna, are you looking to move to cairo?

davist18leo wrote:

Hello everyone!

let me introduce myself, My name is Tawanna from the US and I am excited to be making the big move in relocating my family: two kids and husband to Egypt. I am a registered nurse and he is a computer networker and we both chose to make the move for both different scenery and jobs. Believe it or not, it's hard to find jobs in the US. We both traveled to different countries before, and we wanted to come to Egypt because of it's deep ancient history. I wanted to know any tips on the job market. I am interested in teaching as well.

Hello Layla,

Yes, but I'm also considering Maadi or Rehab so I have not confirmed my decision yet.

Maadi & Rehab are INSIDE Cairo...
Comparing with the US, Cairo is a state. Rehab, Maadi, are neighborhoods...

Dear Cenlin,