Fixer-upper house

Hello,

We're planning to come to Ecuador in two years and are trying to get informed.  We're starting Spanish lessons this fall.  We've read this forum and as many blogs as we can find and appreciate all the comments, but we still have a few questions.

Our budget is tight.  We have a small nest egg and my social security will be $950 a month.  I'm a carpenter.  We'd like to buy a modest house and fix it up ourselves.  Most of the homes we've seen in blogs and websites are nicer than our home here.  Do any expats live in working class Ecuadorean neighborhoods?

Thank you in advance for your advice,

John

Hi John and welcome to the forum!

Hope that you'll soon be enlightened.;)

Harmonie.

Hello John,
I may not be the expert you are looking for, but I recently returned from my first visit to Ecuador. I had the opportunity to look at many properties for sale. I met a couple on line from the states, and met up with them in Cuenca. They had bought a beautiful new apartment, with all the ammenities. They really desired to get out of the city, and found a property in the mountains, yet still close the city. I don't know what you are considering price wise, but they purchased this rural home for 100K, and that included 5 acres, and the most breath taking views you'll find.
Good Luck in your search!
Stay Well,
Neil

Look at Loja and Vilcabamba~~~

Hey Neil,

Thank you for responding.  I see you're from Minnesota - would you be a Replacements fan by any chance?

The rural property you describe sounds wonderful.  That's exactly what we'd both love to have, but we need to find something less expensive and closer to a city.

What was your experience of the country and the weather?  We're getting the impression that Ecuador is so mountainous that moving three or four miles can mean the difference between alpine and tropical.

Thanks again,

John

Tango,