Anything you'd like to know about Rio's amazing turnaround?

ask me or read riorealblog.com

Hi JuliaMichaels,

Welcome to Expat.com!

Maybe you could introduce yourself?

Thank you.

Hi Christine, sure thing! I've been in Brazil over half my life, 31 years last week. Part of the time was in São Paulo, and I've lived in Rio since 1995. I worked as a journalist in the 80s, brought up three children and did five years in publishing. Two years ago I created my blog, about the transformation of Rio-- and I love my work. Until 2009 I never imagined that Rio could actually turn itself around. I'll be giving a talk on this at the American Society August 14.

Hi Julia,

I'd like to express my personal opinion:

While nobody can deny that Rio is not the city it was a few years ago and that major changes are taking place, they are few, long overdue and slow in coming. I feel that it is a bit irresponsible to paint a picture that Rio has as if by magic become "Heaven on Earth" overnight, it simply is not true.

Sure, life has changed substantially in many of the "pacified" favelas and the government has finally taken to heart that they are the ones who should be looking after the needs of the resident population, not just letting the drug traffickers fill that role. The fact remains that drugs and the related violence, violent crimes such as murders, armed robberies, kidnappings, carjackings, etc., continue to take place in Rio on a daily basis.

The shootouts between police and traffickers have not ended, only this morning there was another confrontation and shootout in Jacarezinho. Despite the major druglord's video declaration that they would no longer be selling crack in Jacarezinho, police recovered a large quantity of drugs (including crack) during the operation.