Canadian-Libyan broohaha

Does anybody know and have tips about the diplomatic fracus between Canada and LIbya and the fallout for Canadians here in Libya?  My husband is Canadian for now, is trying to finish his American citizenship, has appointment for hearing/test in States on Oct 21 but has been told he can leave Libya, but they will not let him back in.  Canadian Embassy has been NO help at all. 

Do you long-timers have experience/witness of similar collective punishments by Libya against citizens of a country they're made at?  I was told for example that my visa would take 4-6 months cause I'm American, but it only took a few weeks. 

Should we be super worried, or concerned about not only his trip now, but our Thanksgiving and Christmas breaks?

I have similar concerns.

Does he already have his exit visa?  I am worried that they may tie our passports up in immigration for a year...

Who said they won't let him back in?  Was it the visa team at the company?

I'm new to Libya don't know much how things work here, but
couple of my Canadian co-workers going on roataion/field break in a few days have been told the same...They can leave the country but they can't come back...It is one way ticket...

Please share if get any updates..

Wowsers, that is pretty nuts!  Now if only this will last until I leave in November....I could use a good break from this place, that's for sure.

I have contacted the Canadian Embassy - I don't work so I have all day to keep on their butts til I get some answers.

I'll update once I hear more.

The Colonel does hold a grudge, there is no doubt about that.  Canadians are the new Swiss it seems.

another guy from Calgary has his passport stuck with immigration for last two weeks.  Company had applied for resident+exit visa for him.  People at company who deal with immigration has no clear information, they say that might happen.

More to do with our retard PM Harper, I don't know what he was trying to achieve.