Cheap places to stay? Finding a room fast?

Help!

I am from the US. I didn't book my ticket to Paris until I had arranged a room -- "guaranteed" the man said. Then after I get here, withdraw the cash he wants, he changes his mind!

I've been staying in hostels and hotels for about 10 days but this is more than I can afford and I am having a lot of difficulty finding another place in my range! I can spend about 550€ maximum per month on lodging, if I want to be able to eat as well. (Unless I magically find a job in Paris sans work permits, which was not exactly part of the plan... I am a writer and was looking to live off my existing royalties and US based work only.)

I might not even mind staying in hostels and hotels the whole time; but out here, at least amongst the ones I'm finding, they aren't very cheap and are often not available for long stretches (as I had planned to stay for a couple months I packed a rather large suitcase, moving it across town every three days for a new room is becoming problematic.) The only thing I absolutely need anywhere I stay is Wifi, since that's how I'm able to keep working; I can make do with an unfurnished place, or no kitchen, or even no indoor water if that's how we have to play it.

Can anyone come up with suggestions? Maybe by good luck know of someone with a cheap place to rent? I have some extra fun in that I found, when I arrived, that my French was much worse than I'd thought and I'm basically unable to communicate in the native language.

Wish u luck :sosad:

Hi Sobekneferu!

Have you tried having a look at the Paris housing section?
You could eventually post an advert there as well.

Best of luck
Armand

Have you tried Craig's List?  Yep, it's in Paris, too!