Non resident for tax purposes - need help

Hi everyone!

I just need some help regarding resident/ non resident status for tax purposes.

I am leaving Malta this Friday and will be relocating to the US. I have worked in Malta for almost 3 years since October 2009. My problem is our tax people here is saying that I am considered as a non resident for the taxable year 2012 (since I will not be staying here in Malta for more than 183 days) hence I will be subject to the non resident tax rates which is obviously higher.  As result I will end up paying more tax instead of actually getting a refund. Please take note that I do have a yearly residence permit, I paid the NI contributions and I have a maltese ID card. I mean as far as I am concern I am still a resident. Does anybody has an idea/experiences regarding this matter. Your replies will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Jericho

Hi
   I think you may have jumped the gun, what you should do is move to the US sort out your tax status there. Then notify Malta that you have moved and when you get your 2012 tax form from Malta (next year) just enter the months and earnings for Malta.

We moved from France to Malta and did this with the French tax people.
Terry

Thanks Terry for your reply!

My employer is actually saying that I should pay the tax upfront.

how many days will you be short of the 183 ? Can you come back on holiday later in the year to make it up ?

Thanks George for your reply!

I am actually 2 weeks short.  I have actually considered extending my stay for another two weeks however I will be then considered as non resident alien in the US which could end up me paying more taxes there. I am not sure on this though.

Are there any other ways to establish tax residency apart from the 183 days?  In the first place that 183 days rule is not even mentioned in the Malta income tax act.