Possible move with children

My husband has a job offer in Puerto Rico and we are deciding whether or not it would be a good move for our family.  It would be a temporary move of 3-4 years.  My husband and I are both bilingual and we have 5 children who are all pretty bilingual (not totally fluent).  From what I can tell, the public schools are not a great option.  I am a certified teacher, so I could home school.  Does anyone have any feedback on children adjusting to a move in PR?  For examples: activities, integrating into the culture, meeting other children, etc.  Thank you!!!

Your kids will probably love PR. If you live near the beach, they will never get tired or it. If you live in the San Juan area, there is an excellent surf school for kids on Playa Aviones behind the restaurant/activity base known as Mambo Jambo in Piñones. I can try to dig up their contact info for you or when you are there just go to Mambo Jambo and they will square you away. They are very pleasant, professional and safe.

There is also a place in Isla Verde called Casa Cuba that has a large range of activities for kids like recreational sports leagues and other good stuff. (Reasonably priced as well.) http://www.casacubapr.com/. You are not expected to be part of the Cuban expat community to join. Most members are not Cuban.

There a many more examples of kids activities. It can be hard to find anything on the internet in PR but these activities are out there.

If you enroll your kids in private school, they will make plenty of friends very quickly. If you home-school, it will take a little longer and may be a little harder but they will make friends through their activities or, if you live in a condo, with the kids of other residents. (Their circle of friends will probably be much smaller if they are not in school.)