Waiting to exhale

I love my country and im a military vet,however,America seems to be youth oriented and very expensive to retire here. I was born and raised in a different time.A time where you saw people not just cars.Thats why i like DR.Im watching and waiting with bated breath until i can take what i have earned and leave before the "powers that be" try to renig on our pensions and social security.Im hoping my 401k dont get swallowed up by another clique of greedy billionaires and corporations controlling the markets.In DR you are not old at 50.You see people not just cars.I need to work for another 6 to 9 months to save enough and it seems Congress is on the same time track as to a decision to offer early retirement for us. So i wait,work,excercise,eat,and sleep.Dont want to do anything else gotta save.Besides i have done it all here...time to change.

Amen my friend, very well put.I'm 5 years away from making my move to DR already bought my place to retire. Best of luck .....

Thank you for serving our country....we are planning to retire in 2 years if not sooner in the northcoast of the DR.  We are from the Vietnam era and boy has this country changed ! But it is still American (for now)  Goodluck on your move,and we have been 9 times and if you are looking for peace, tranquility, smiling faces and the true love of life this is the place for you...you give up a few modern conviences but you gain it back in a great way of life with smiling faces.  Keep in touch

best of luck to you all

I'm just starting my quest to go to DR any sugestions.I am going to  Cotui.

Hi! Welcome to Expat forum.I suggest you introduce yourself to the forum and say a little about your hopes,experiences,and why you are adventuring to dr. This will help members to advise you better. Also read the many different topics and discussions about dr here on the forum. Im sure you will find some very interesting info.Til next time.

Jaxterstone