Hi from Australia

I just thought I'd post and say hi! I'm originally from Canada (near Calgary), but now I'm studying in Australia (Melbourne). I actually split my time between Melbourne and Papua New Guinea, where I do my field research.

I kind of like living in Melbourne, but I like Papua New Guinea better, and I'm a bit homesick for Canada - probably because I haven't been back to visit in the past couple of years. Check out my blog if you're interested.

It's nice to see a forum for expats from all over the world. I'm sure I'll stop by more often!

Dear Dmscvan,

welcome on the expat forum!

I am a bit curious, what's your field research? (I may read it on your blog :D)

Thanks! I'm doing my PhD in linguistics. Writing a grammar of an undescribed language. It's lots of fun!

Has it been complicated to move from Canada to the other side of the planet?

What do you like in Australia/Papua New Guinea?

What do you hate in those countries?

(lots of questions but I am very interested in that part of the world ;) )

I wouldn't say it's been complicated to move to the other side of the country - the whole process went pretty quick, because I didn't really have any time between degrees, and I was really busy with schoolwork right up until the move. But there have definately been some surprises since moving.

In Australia, I like the friendliness of the people. I thought we were friendly in Canada (maybe it's just a comparison to the Americans), but they are even more so in Australia. In stores, banks, etc. And I like the easy-going nature of Australians - very down to earth (of course, these are all generalizations).

I like a lot of the food here - the dairy is so much better than in Canada. They have some nice, cheap wine here too - perfect for a student (I was never much of a wine drinker before moving here).