Possible expat from U.S. to Rio/SP

Hello all. I am a Finance professional in the U.S. who would possibly love to relocate to Brazil. My only experience there a a visit to Salvador and Rio for a few days. What, if any, job prospects or roadblocks would I face trying to enter the market there? Also, I did some inquiring about a small business that I have on the side and I have a question: Is it REALLY that hard to import vehicles to Brazil??? Wow, I read some disturbing stuff...also what about importing other goods like clothes and electronics? Any and all info is appreciated!! Thanks.

Hi Nolazack,

Apart from the nightmarish bureaucracy and delay involved in trying to import a vehicle to Brazil from North America the tax you will have to pay makes the whole idea impossible. This doesn't even take into consideration the actual shipping cost. Even with a brand new vehicle that you've just bought you're much better off in the long run to bite the bullet and take the loss involved in selling it at a depreciated price and then applying that money toward the purchase of a vehicle here. Don't forget that right now your dollar is worth about R$1,75 so that will ease the pain a lot. You will likely need to top up the price you get for the vehicle a bit, but that's life.

The question is driving... you are only permitted to drive here in Brazil for a maximum of 180 days with an Inter-Americas Driving Permit (IADP) which also requires your valid US drivers licence. After that time you are required to have a Brazilian drivers licence. Don't make the mistake of asking for an International Drivers Permit (IDP) because that is not valid in Brazil, only the IADP is recognized here. And of course in order to stay in Brazil longer than 180 days you require some kind of visa other than a tourist visa. (i.e. permanent visa,investor visa, temporary work visa, etc.) all of which are another nightmare to obtain.