Converting an Australian Drivers License to a Maltese License

Hi all,
I am really new to Expat but it looks like a great way of sharing experiences and tips.

I have just moved to Italy from Australia and hold dule Citizenship (Australia & Malta). In Italy they do not reccognise my license and have said that i will need to do it all from scratch. This is very expencive and i will need to go for my motorbike, bus and truck all over again. I have been driving for more than 30 years and in Australia and find this hard to swollow. I have been informed that if i have a Maltese license this may be used in Italy indefinately. I am looking for any information i can in regards to getting my drivers license transfered to Maltese as i will be there during July this year. If anyone can give me some advice or a contact it will be greatfully appricated.
Mike

Hi Mike,

welcome to the forum.

Houston.... I mean Mike, we have a problem !

Malta would allow you to exchange your Australian driving licence for a Maltese one but .............. only if you have been resident for 6 months.

You are allowed to use your Australian driving licence for up to 1 year in Malta or the EU or until it expires if that is in less than 1 year.

But it might be worth a visit to TM to see if you can get around that but don't put too much hope in that as it is EU law that applies.

Cheers
Ricky

emailschem wrote:

I have been informed that if i have a Maltese license this may be used in Italy indefinately.

there is no such thing as a Maltese licence as such  -there is an EU licence issued by the Maltese.

As Ricky says, there is a standard EU wide rule that you need to be resident for 6 months before you can convert an existing licence (or take a test)