Working on a 3-5 year plan...

Hi people!

Im Neil, and I wanted to give you a little background info about me before I started asking questions. I am currently living in Ireland and seriously considering relocating. Im working on a 3-5 year plan to get out of Ireland and Mauritius was highly recommended to me by one of my close neighbors (Mauritian national).

Ive lived in a good number of countries and wouldnt be a stranger to relocation except this time I would be bringing a wife and 2 daughters with me. I currently work in the advertising sector as a graphic designer and photographer (fashion and product - even do weddings on the side) with about 15 years of experience in the field.

Here are a few questions I hope you can kindly answer for me.

My French is fairly bad and I was wondering if I could get by using English? Obviously including work. I speak English and German fluently.

How easy is it to start up your own business (in my field of work preferably), starting off as self employed? I think my target clients will be medium sized businesses and I would obviously offer wedding photography.

Would it be easy enough to earn the Rs600,000 required income (self employed)?

Whats the minimum amount of money would you suggest that someone needs to bring with them to get by? I know its a broad enough question but Im sure a number of you know how much you spent while relocating. What I am trying to do is to see how much money I need to save before even considering the move.

I really appreciate any feedback. Thanks in advance!

Another thing I forgot to ask is; does Mauritius recognise a common law wife as a dependent or not? I know I mention my "wife" in my earlier post. It is actually my partner and we have 2 daughters together.

Looking forward to any responses.

Thanks again!

Welcome on Expat.com Neil !

Speaking French is not mandatory, as everybody is supposed to be bilingual here. Of course it could help but everybody speaks English here.