Newbie here - relocating to Malta end of August

Hi all,

Myself, partner and 15 month old daughter will be relocating to Malta end of August (possibly Sliema/St Julians areas - flying over next week to pick our area). 

I've been trawling various sites to try gather as much info as poss in preparation for the move and luckily stumbled across this site which seems full of great info and like-minded people :)

Any info/advice anyone can give on relocating to Malta/nurseries/expat groups/best places to live etc will be greatly appreciated :)

Sarah :)

Hi Sarah,

welcome to the forum .

You will find a lot of information about most of your questions in previous posts.

Feel free to ask any specific questions that remain.

What are your criteria in choosing an area ?

Cheers
Ricky

We have an apartment in St Pauls's Bay which is a less expensive area than Sliema. However, our advantages are:- less road congestion,good local shops(not the tourist ones), bus routes and bus station, harbour, beach , coastal walks and a sea llife centre currently being built. Very good restaurants, good dive centres (if that interests you), local 7 screen cinema (all films in English), easy access to many parts of the island, from the Gozo ferry to Valetta. If you wish to know more just let me know.
Caroline

Hi Ricky, our main criteria in choosing an area would be primarily close to a good nursery for our daughter, also for there to be enough going on in the area for when my partner is overseas working (preferably walking distance)
Hi 'This is England', thanks for the reply and info.  We did think of St Paul's bay but I was worried that it was a bit 'out of the way' although after having looked up the rental prices for St Julians/ Sliema I may have to go further afield as we're not really getting alot for our money there.  We will be over on Tuesday for a week to get to grips on the area and was also hoping to pop past the Wednesday meetup in the evening if that was still running?
:)