Nurse in PR

Hi everyone,

My wife and I just got married in January, and are looking to start our new lives together in PR. She is a massage therapist, and we have already found tons of opportunities for her to work at resorts and such. I am a registered nurse, and am having a little more trouble. I applied for jobs with usajobs.gov, but the recruiters told me jobs very rarely open up in PR and that there are no openings right now (which is a good sign that PR is the place to be). I would love some help with two things:

1) Does anybody know any good hospitals or clinics not associated with the army that would be good for a ex-pat to work at? My wife and I speak quite a bit of Spanish, but I don't feel confident enough to take orders from doctors and assess patients completely in Spanish yet. I was wondering if maybe there was a doctors office or hospital that ex-pats or vacationers tend to go to?

2) I've been trying to contact the board of nursing in PR, but every time I call their phone number I get a busy tone. I didn't know if anyone knew a better number than (787)725-7506. I am also going to attempt to fax them today.

Thanks for your time and help!

You can try the Ashford Medical center and El Presby Hospital. They're located in Condado, which makes them the Hospital that tourists go to, so the staff is expected to know English. They've got email links.

presbypr.com/en-us/contacto.aspx

ashfordmedical.com/pag.cgi?id=4a&cat=4&sub=4

I've been trying to contact the board of nursing in PR, but every time I call their phone number I get a busy tone.

Welcome to the island! :-)

Hello Dietch and welcome to Expat.com!

Hope you'll soon get some useful info, you could as well check out the Jobs in Puerto Rico section and post your CV there.

All the best,

Francesca