Hardest decision of my life..i need advice.

Hi everyone newbie here.

I have to make some agonizing decisions very soon and i really don't know who to turn to or where to begin but I can only hope that someone on this forum can relate to my situation.

I recently met and married an English man and have agreed to move to London with him. The problem is me..i never went to college, and have few skills that can land me a job in America let alone overseas. I am over 50 and live in a rent controlled apartment. If i decide to move to the UK then i will certainly lose my flat in the US. I run a stall at my local flea market and have been doing so for many years. I don't have much marketable skills and i am terribly afraid that if i give up me flat and later on find out that the decision to move to UK was not right for me , then i would no longer have a place to call my own as i cannot afford to pay market-rate for another apartment.

Its a gut wrenching decision for me as i have never lived overseas as well and this coupled with the fact that i have few skills to offer, makes my upcoming decision to move, a very agonizing one. You may wonder why the flat is so important when infact i have a husband that i can look forward to in a new life together but when you have few options in life, and have few possesions in life, it does become extremly important belive it or not.

Let me just quickly add that, no i cannot just have someone pay the rent while i go and " investigate " London. The management will find out and i may lose the flat for sure. I don't have any relatives in the states i live in to help facilitate my relocation or any other form of help... if i leave for the UK it would mean losing my flat and i am going nuts over what to do.

any advice would be helpful..but just to repeat, there is no chance of me holding on to the flat if i decide to relocate.

thanks

1on1

Hi 1on1,