Expats in ecuador

looking for expats in ecuador to communicate with.  we are planning to move there in 2012 but would like someone to email with about questions and experiences. thanks

Hi katet1955,

Welcome to Expat.com!

Maybe you should tell us more about you and ask specific questions.

When will you intend to move in Ecuador? (which month in 2012?)

Thank you

I am 57 years old.  I am a mental health therapist and still work.  My husband is retired.  I think we will move in around summer of 2013.  I am thinking we want to buy a home in cuenca ecuador.  I will be visiting in August 2012.  What hotel is a good place to stay that is not very expensive but close to all services in cuenca?  I will be looking at homes to buy while there, who would I need to contact?  There is so much I need to ask.  I live in Texas and will probably bring one little dog with us when we move.  I am going to need a visa, do I get that after I move or before I move there?  So many questions!  thanks!

Hi katet1955,

I would suggest you to have a look at other threads on the Ecuador forum as well.

Concerning the accommodation search, please note that our new classifieds system will be online in a few days. You could then post an advert in the Ecuador Housing section.

Thank you and good luck in your search,
Christine

(Moderated: :offtopic:)

Hello All,

I, too, am interested in this answer as well as a local's perspective on the rise in crime that I have read about. Particularly the target of AMericans as it is believed that they are more inclined wear the most "bling".

Any insight here is appreciated!

Warm Regards

Hi Kate,