Finding an apartment in downtown area

Hi!

I am a graduate student from the US and I plan to be in Tunis for 2-3 months to do research (mostly) at the Bibliotheque Nationale. I'm currently living in Morocco and I fly to Tunis in a week.

I'm wondering if anyone here can give me some suggestions on finding a short-term, furnished apartment in the downtown area. I am just looking for a small, one-bedroom apartment or studio - or maybe even just a room share - as I am traveling alone. The library where I'll spend most of my days working is near Place de la Kasbah on Boulevard 9 du Avril 1938, and I'd like to be within a 10-15 minute commute (by foot would be ideal) of the library.

I definitely plan to have a look at the accommodation listings in the classified section of the blog, and I will also see if I can find any leads on tunisie-annonce.com. In the meantime, however, I'd love to hear any other suggestions for searching for housing.

Also, I have a few specific questions.

Would you recommend that I live in the downtown area (near the library), or would you recommend that I look at housing in other neighborhoods and take public transport to the library every day?  I should say that I'd like to live in a neighborhood that has some restaurants and cafes open at night, in case this makes a difference.

I have read through some older accommodation questions posted on the forum and see that I should expect to pay somewhere around 600 TND for a furnished place. Does that sound about right for the downtown area? Should I expect to pay more than that given that my housing is short-term (2-3 months only)?

Thanks in advance!

Jeeves

Hey again,

Just checking to see if anyone has any suggestions - haven't heard from anyone yet.

Would you recommend living in downtown Tunis? I'm looking for a nice area with shops, cafes, and restaurants nearby if possible.