I'm a young businesswoman moving to Qatar,what do i need to prepare

Hi!I'm a 29 year old Kenyan moving to Qatar for 8 months, with my Danish husband,who's going there to work for an engineering firm,so I decided to join him(I'm a Communications Consultant). So i'm looking to be as prepared as possible, but the internet doesn't offer much on Qatar,nor do we know anybody there:

Where can we meet other expatriates so I can settle in faster?

My husband has a work permit and I dont-how can i quickly get one?

I've realized that society is conservative about men and women mixing, yet men own most businesses, so how do i network and pitch for opportunities?(I'm assuming thats how they do business there?)

Also,if all else fails, where can i teach English or train people (and other part time jobs?)Or perhaps FIND AN art gallery where i could exhibit and sell my work?

How serious are they about dress codes, is it true i'd have to wear a Hijab and long flowing clothes?

Is there anything else i need to look out for (racism,language barriers,rules of behaviour,stuff i should bring with me etc)

This is a great forum, thanks for your help!:)

Hi lee101 and welcome to Expat.com!

Your thread has been moved to Qatar forum for better visibility.;)

Do not hesitate to browse through the forum, it may help too.

Harmonie.

HI.
I am going soon to visit Erbil as well, and I know a few friends in Qtar. If you need their help I can give you their details on skype. YOu may call me any time: my skype is: ahsanahsn720

Hi Lee101,

I have lived in Qatar for 7 years before moving recently to Bahrain; and I think Qatar image is quite different from the one you have in mind.

Expats in Qatar are more than the local citizens and you can meet them everywhere, wherever you will stay you will be surrounded with lots of them and you will be able to have many friends once you socialize with your neighbors.