Moving to Kenya...looking for a place to rent.. please advise

Hi all

Im new to the network

Im hoping to move to Kenya ... Im looking to rent a bungalow, ground floor flat. with garden.. 2 bedrooms.. in a safe and secure area..

im not sure if I can get this in Nairobi or if I have to try the coastal cities..

would truly appreciate any advise anyone can give on where i can find this, how to find it, how much it will cost.. etc

I heard you can rent out really nice, new build apartments (unfurnished) in Nairobi for around 300 dollars a month.. is this true?

sufsuf

Hi sufsuf!

Welcome to Expat.com!

Armand

thanks ... do you have any info on the above questions?

Hi Sufsuf

I am also packing my stuff to move Naitobi on 2nd April and lloking for an accomodation. If you would like after finding out a proper one I am willing to share.
Cheers

Hi,

Online is a good place to start.  Have a look at the following sites, to get you started.

http://villacarekenya.com/search/index.phphttp://www.tysonskenya.com/properties/search/http://search.knightfrank.com/property-to-let/kenyahttp://www.hassconsult.co.ke/index.php? … &Itemid=29

Tha above agents generally only have properties in the 'better areas' and the prices reflect this.

Thank you so much Longonot!

Just to add - there are plenty of apartments, but the ground floor ones don't tend to come with gardens - with apartments, most of the grounds are generally turned into a parking lot.  The 'green areas' are communal.  If you want a garden, then you will need to get a bungalow, or house - for which a larger budget is likely to be needed.

Bungalows are becoming less common in Nairobi.  There has been a tendency for developers to buy them and build apartments, in their place (they often had large gardens).