Some questions about immigrating

Hi there. I'm a 29-year-old British editor wanting to make a new life in Sydney. I currently live in Hong Kong.

The trouble is that I can't make up the points for the Skilled Independent Migrant visa and have no relatives in Oz.

I'm thinking that my only practical course of action is as follows: apply for a working holiday visa, go to Sydney, find an employer willing to sponsor me for a work visa and transfer to that, sponsor my wife and bring her over. My understanding is that transferring from a working holiday visa to a work visa is easy and does not involve leaving the country.

1    Are there any other routes open to me?

2    Has anyone attempted the plan I've outlined above?

3    Is the plan feasible with regards to getting a job/sponsorship? I've heard that sponsoring work visas can be onerous for employers.

4    If I do get sponsored for a work visa, which visa am I likely to get?

I would appreciate any feedback as I'm somewhat dreading the process of moving country again, especially with so much uncertainty involved.

Many thanks, Ben

Ben66 wrote:

Hi there. I'm a 29-year-old British editor wanting to make a new life in Sydney. I currently live in Hong Kong.

The trouble is that I can't make up the points for the Skilled Independent Migrant visa and have no relatives in Oz.

I'm thinking that my only practical course of action is as follows: apply for a working holiday visa, go to Sydney, find an employer willing to sponsor me for a work visa and transfer to that, sponsor my wife and bring her over. My understanding is that transferring from a working holiday visa to a work visa is easy and does not involve leaving the country.

1    Are there any other routes open to me?

2    Has anyone attempted the plan I've outlined above?

3    Is the plan feasible with regards to getting a job/sponsorship? I've heard that sponsoring work visas can be onerous for employers.