English Teacher moving from Nam

Hi All,

I am a English teacher in Vietnsm now, I am looking to move to Malaysia next school year.  Where are there the most jobs in Malaysia?  I'd be willing to live elsewhere besides KL, but I'm not sure the best cities.  Also, do most expats come to Malaysia with a job beforehand like is customary with China and Korea and other countries?  Any advice from other teachers would be appreciated.  Thanks!

Hi depends what you mean by english teacher. If TEFL Malaysian salaries are low and arriving and expecting to get a job is very unwise. First time in Malaysia always get a job beforehand. TEFL has got better here in general but from a very low point!

Hi, my bad, I meant I am a TEFL certified English teacher.  I'm not a "teacher teacher" lol.  But,do most people get a job before moving to Malaysia?

Yes or waste all their savings - Malaysia especially KL is relatively expensive to live in and lots of locals teach EFL and you need a wp - hard in Malaysia. So best you get a job first

Hi, thanks man!

You will find it extremely difficult to obtain employment in a Teaching capacity here in Malaysia,unless you have a degree or at minimum a CELTA.if this is the case,then you can prearrange appointments at language schools,universities etc.Or you can simply walk in.There is a high demand for native speaking English Teachers.However the pay is not brilliant.The other alternative is to offer your services as a private tutor.Financial rewards are higher using this avenue.For further info email  [email protected]

Hi, I have a Bachelors degree in Economics from a university and a TEFL degree, but I'm not a "teacher teacher." In a nutshell, I am trying to find an Asian country with a high demand for teachers which pays well and isn't too arduous to get a ESL teaching job with. :)

Yes in dreamland near neverneverland!