Please share your experiences Best and Worst

Hej !  I am planning to move to Norway (eventually :D), and I would love to hear from those who have done it, what were the best experiences and the worst.  I have heard so many things, like it's too expensive to own a car and drive !??  Anyway, please reply, I have loads of questions to ask !

Kaerlig hilsen
Lilje

Don't be shy ! There must be someone willing to chat :rolleyes:

Hei Klaus,
Thanks for the reply.  I guess I have a lot of questions but I wanted to know....
1) What do the Norwegian people think of the English ?
2) Would it be difficult to find a job ? (Jeg laerer Norsk).
3) Coming over from England, would I find the cost of living very high in comparison ?

Lilje ;)

Thanks Klaus

I am studying for a high level qualification in Health & Safety and so I am learning the language to help me find a good job, perhaps with the Norwegian State Railway.  I have a very good job here in England with the Railway.

I would like to know what you think is the best thing about living there and perhaps the worst too.  I think it is a beautiful country, do you think you will stay there ?

Thanks
Lilje

Lilje wrote:

Hei Klaus,
Thanks for the reply.  I guess I have a lot of questions but I wanted to know....
1) What do the Norwegian people think of the English ?
2) Would it be difficult to find a job ? (Jeg laerer Norsk).
3) Coming over from England, would I find the cost of living very high in comparison ?

Lilje ;)

Hiya,

1) That they have a strange sense of humour - not all Norwegians 'get' Mr Bean but they love Harry Potter. Don't worry - Norwegians tend to like the English.:)

2) Ikke hvis du snakker norsk.

3) Yes, the VAT is higher (think it's 27% here in Norway) but you can go shopping in Sweden to get EU prices. Alcohol, eating out, hairdressers etc is more expensive but then again the salaries are higher. It balances out.

I miss online shopping, Next and Sainsburys!

good luck.

Why do you wish to move to Norway?