Making the move to SA no idea about visas please help!

Hey

I am hoping to move to SA this year and just need a bit of advise, finding it difficult to get information about visas online.

So i am a registered adult nurse and have been qualified and working for 2 years now in the UK. My boyfriend is South African and we have been dating for 3 years.  Last year we moved to Canada to live together for a year.  Now we are both in our own coutries and i am looking at getting a visa to live in SA and work.

Does anyone know what type of visa would be best a LPP or a temporary work visa.  Also if it is difficult to get nursing work in SA?

Thanks any help would be much appreciated!! little bit lost with it all!

Cheers

Hi.

I would contact the SA consulate in you country and get them to send you the requirements for both visas, that way you can see what will be the best visa for you.

If applying for a work visa you have to have a job offer (that can be difficult to get while not in SA) If you are applying for a LPP you will have to prove that you cohabitate with your BF and that you share financial responsibility. That can also be difficult if you do not live together at the moment. Also if you want to work on your LPP you need a work endorsement, a job offer + some other stuff, that can be added to the LPP at a later stage, but the application process is very long (Im waiting for my  LPP since august) While you are waiting for the application you might not be allowed to work.
Yo, this is all so negative... Shame if you want to make it happen you can, you must just be patient.

On a slightly more positive side, there is huge skill shortage in SA, so it should not be too difficult for you to get a job, if your qualifications are good. However remember salaries are very low in SA compared to Europe.

Good Luck to you

Sarah

Hi