NEED AN EXPERT ADVICE REGARDING MOVING TO OMAN

Good day folks,

I am currently in vacation here in the Philippines as i just ended my work contract in Doha, Qatar.

My employer still wants me to go back and work for them but I am considering to work on another country.

I had an offer from Oman to work in a studio for i am a video editor and Audio-Video Technician.

The salary that they were offering is lesser than what i get from doha but they will give me Overtime Pay and additional pay per outdoor job which i do not get from my current company.

everything is the same they will give free accommodation and transportation. they will issue a Family visa for me so i can bring my wife eventually they even offer a secluded room for me so my wife could stay at the same accommodation.

the problem is I do not have any idea what lies in Oman.
these are my questions

1. is it also tax free?
2. is it an open country? liquor, bar, etc.
3. is it boring?
4. is the labor law being followed by the employers?
5. is it ok to move jobs from one to another?
6. will there be available job for my wife if i bring her? she in sales and retail.
7. how was the cost of living? how much is the basic budget for a month?
8. does the employer holds your passport same in doha?

any answer will be very much appreciated. sorry for the numbers of questions i just really need to analyze things. . .

thanks you.

Hi chase0103,

Welcome to Expat.com!

I hope other members will be able to help you.

I wish you good luck,

All the best,
Christine

thanks Christine. .

1. is it also tax free? depends on your nationality. For Americans it is up to the max allowed by the IRS.