Learning Vietnamese (Southern Dialect)

Here's links to a couple of YouTube sites that are dedicated to helping foreigners learn Vietnamese...with a southern 'twang!

youtube.com/user/VietnamEyesTalk#p/a

youtube.com/user/learnvietnamese?feature=watch

Thank you for the links. But the first one is terribly boring. The second one seems more interesting thank to the beautiful girl. :P But the language she is speaking is not natural Vietnamese, both grammar and pronunciation. If anyone wants to improve their Vietnamese, just talk to me; it's free and interesting. I am an English teacher who is eager to teach....Vietnamese!! lol

What would you suggest to liven the videos up?  How about chimps riding tricycles in the background and circus music blaring at 100 decibles?  That always makes me laugh!  Maybe she could have butterflies and unicorns coming out of her mouth, instead of those awful word thingies!  It's amazing what they can do with computers these days!

They are educational videos and her delivery is probably the best way for a video: a no nonsense approach with clear pronunciation.  I appreciate their time and effort.

Grammatical structure, while important, isn't vital.  The goal of conversational language is to make oneself understood.  When I first arrived I would have wanted to speak perfectly; now I'm happy if I can just get that bowl of pho, or cup of coffee, without being laughed at.

VietNam is no different from many other countries as far as regional intonation is concerned, just as in the States.

The differences between Northerners and Southerners also extends to sentence construction and word substitution.

Many of the international language courses, available for VND30,000 per CD/DVD in HCMC, use Northern pronunciation.

WideAwake wrote: