JOB

Hi All

I have been applying for jobs in Malta for a few months without success.  It looks like I am being made redundant in the next few months.

My question is will I find it easier to get a job in malta if I move over?  i think the reason I am having no luck is the fact that I am in the UK.

Any help & advice would be greatly appreciated

Cheers
Jo

Hi bibbles,

it certainly is easier to get a job if you are already in Malta.

But the question is whether you are not getting any response because you are not in Malta or because there are no jobs that fit your qualifications.

Most job agencies have a lot of potential employees on their lists and like to interview but don't have many jobs to offer unless you have the highest qualifications. So it wouldn't be worthwhile for you to come over to Malta just for an interview that puts you on a list without actual job offers.

What kind of work are you looking for?

Cheers
Ricky

In part I do agree with Ricky.

I got interview over the phone with a company, then flew to Malta (Twice) for formal interviews and between the formal ones also had another Skype interview.

I then started with the company and after 2 months was told that they are changing how they do things and that my role was no longer going to be available.... Horror .... but due to my other PM skills after a week they called me back and offered me a Project Leader role.... which i accepted... although in the meantime i had managed to secure in 1 week 4 interviews with different companies....

I think what I am trying to say is that yes you can look from UK, and really the agencies do try and find work for you but it is easier if you are on the spot to go to an interview immediatley.

Obviously if you have enough to live here and survive then it would be easier being in Malta (It took 4 months to actually get the position that I initially came for, probrably spent more on flights than if i had been here)

Julian

Hi