New Member - Hello All

hello everybody.
I am new to this forum, i recently got approval for the Norway Job search visa and will be moving to Norway by the early March.

I am really excited about the prospects of exploring this beautiful country and meeting new people.
A brief background about myself, i am Parag originally from Mumbai India, i am an IT engineer and MBA (IIMC ) (is there an IIM alumni in oslo if anyone is aware? )

i worked as a Senior Consultant with PricewaterhouseCoopers for 3.5 years and now am Head of Business Development for an American Technology Consulting company in Africa.

I would like to know how is the Consulting Job market in Norway , as in how competitive is it for Expats and how difficult would it be without knowledge of local language?

I am really looking fwd to interact with expats in norway and would be great to catch up while i am there.
Please feel free to give me a shout !

cheers

have a great day
Wishes
parag

Hi Parag,

Welcome to Expat.com!

Thank you for this introduction.

All the best,
Christine

I cant tell you all the information you asked about but I can tell you to get a work visa for a job in Norway is a feat in itself, thats the part alot of expats find hardest in all honesty.

The job market in Norway is competitive, especially in the capital Oslo, however you said you've already got knowledge in this field so at least thats a start - The language will be a problem, I'm 99% sure that it will be the biggest problem you will face, though everyone as a general rule will probably speak English fluently they do like you to know the language, more so than a lot of countries I've visited.

I would advise you to start looking at Norwegian courses in the area, if you are lucky you may even find some free classes here and there. At least being able to show them you are starting to learn the language and making an effort is something  and may give them the confidence to hire you thinking you will learn the language.