At the verge of a hard decision: Pune?

Hi Pune community!

Me and my wife are two Turkish citizens from Izmir. She has now been offered a tempting position in the global service center of her company, at Pune. Frankly, we have never heard of the city before. That's quite normal, as I am pretty sure noone in Pune ever heard of our city Izmir before. Still a big world :)

Here is the issue, although Indian culture is quite charming for both of us, Turkey and India are still two diverse countries. SO we feel concerned about how to get involved into the city life in Pune. We might find a path...However, can you pls share some headlines from your own experiense. What were the hardest and what were better than you have foreseen?

Another issue is about me. She is securing her place but I'll still need a job. I have a BA degree of International Relations from a reputable university. Further, been working for, like 7 years. Do you think I can find a job there? As a job seeker in Pune w/o knowing the native language(or languages, as there are many)...

Thanks in advance for your helping hands.
Cheers!
Tuna.

Pune is a very good city with all MNC International companies and people there are very friendly nature. You will enjoy the life in pune(Poona). Its not compulsory keen to know Marathi Language
( Native Language)You can easily get a job in hand depends on your experience

About job for self you need to take assistance of employer of your spouse. May be they can help you as without Work Permit it will be difficult to get a job. As for living in Pune (Poona)it is a good city and just 3 hours away from Mumbai. It is also a chosen city for retired life. People are educated,decent and helpful.

I can help you get a job once you are in Pune, rest Pune is the best in all accepts

Hmm, nice to read everybody is so enthusiastic about Pune!! I'm moving there (probably) in August this year to work for my (Indian) employer.