Considering moving to Cambodia

After years of toying with moving abroad and a recent honeymoon in Cambodia, my husband and I are seriously considering taking the plunge and moving to Phnom Penh.

He has his own Internet-based business and can work from anywhere. I've been working as a journalist in the UK for the last seven years and despite loving my job, we both long for change.

Ideally, I would love to continue my journalism in Cambodia but am not sure how possible this would be. Another alternative I've been looking at is doing an online TEFL course and teaching English in Cambodia while I build up a few contacts to pursue my journalism.

We flit between definitely wanting to go and worrying that we won't meet people, make friends and will move there only to hate it.

I'm just looking for a bit of advice from people who have already taken the plunge. Is it worth it? What are the pros and cons of living in PP? What's the general cost of living (we'd want to live in somewhere pretty decent)? Should we stop worrying and just go for it?

It would be great to here from people who have already done it and what their experiences are of moving from the UK or other places to live in PP.

Also, we're hoping to start a family within the next year or so. This may sound like a really ignorant question but is it feasible to consider bringing up a baby in PP compared with the UK?

Thanks for any help anyone can provide.

Marissa

Hello Marissa,

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

Concerning the cost of living, I would suggest you to have a look at the following thread: "Cost of living in PP - How far will $300/month stretch?". You could get a hint about the cost of living, and i hope the other members can give you more details. ;)

Good Luck,
Rouma

Hello Marissa,

I just came upon your message and hope it is not too late. I urge you to follow your heart and do it! My husband and I moved here a year and a half ago and have never regretted it for a minute.