NorteAmericano moving to Buenos Aires...firsthand advice on container

Hi,
I'm a newbie from Seattle, Wa. Wife and I are hoping to move to Buenos Aires, Ar in the very near future, and will be visiting in Jan/Feb 2007.
She is Argentinian and we're hoping to make contacts in the expat community and find out about past experiences of others shipping their household goods by container to BuenosAires from the U.S. What works and what doesn't. Any help really appreciated.
Thanks
Terry

Terry,

I cannot comment specifically on Argentina because I have not YET shipped items there.  I did ship items to Mexico and have been involved in Shipping for over 15 years.  So let me give you some pointers.

You can use a full service moving company with Agents in Argentina.  Its easy quick and convient.  You will pay for this ease and convience.  If anything gets damaged please be aware that they usually pay by the pound and depreciate the value.

You can also do what the Moving Companies will do with your household goods.  Google FREIGHT FORWARDERS.  These are companies that will coordinate the shipping of your container from the front door of your house in the US to front door of your new place in Argentina.  Basically a truck will come with your container, you will load it or have someone load it, then the truck will take your container to the port for shipment which could entail one, two, maybe three different vessels.  Once in Argentina your container will get cleared thru Customs and you will have to pay whatever duties the Argentinian Government wants.  Once thru customs then your container will be shipped via truck to your new home in Argentina.