Want to learn Italian; can teach Hindi/English in return

Hey all,

I'm new to this, but I'm already liking the vibes and enthusiasm on this forum! I am a freelance writer and editor based in New Bombay (Navi Mumbai), with a passion for traveling, photography, writing, dance, languages and yoga. My dream is to learn as many new languages as I can before I leave this world. And one is never too old to learn anything.

As for my previous trysts with language, I learnt broken French for 5 years in middle school/high school, and also completed 2 certificate levels with Alliance Francaise de Bombay. I then completed 1 level German with Goethe Institut, Max Mueller, Bombay.

My discontinuities with learning French and German were generally due to financial crunch or time restraints as I was juggling too many things at that time.

I always loved French, but I realized that every second Indian I meet knows French. So I feel that French is overused and I don't want to be caught in that mob.

Now, I'm dying to learn Italian and I want to go the whole mile with this beautiful language. So can anyone suggest which classes I can take? Or if there's any native Italians out here in Bombay who could  help me learn Italian, while I could help them polish their English or Hindi. I'm a Bombay-born woman who corrects people's English for a living. So I can assure you my language skills are in place :-)

Any suggestions or advice is welcome!
Cheers

Hello freespirit25!

Welcome to Expat.com and thanks for this introduction.
I would suggest you to post an advert in the language exchange section of Bombay classifieds.
It might help in your search.

Good luck ;)
Armand

Dear Freespirit,

Your language skills are surely in place. You used very few words to explain a whole lot of things and while reading the word-flow was very smooth.Good to have more people such as you on(or is it at?) the forum.