Are there any retired US military expats in Cuenca?

Hi, as you may have guessed I'm a newbie here.  I want to thank everyone that have contributed to this site, it's been very helpful.  I want to retire in the Cuenca area next year and wondered if there are any retired military out there to correspond with?  I'm retired Army and former Navy.

While my wife and I are not there yet, plans are to head down that way late summer/early fall of 2014. However, we are going for a working vacation in June to Cuenca to scout around a bit. If you are interested (and can tolerate a retired Marine giving you grief from time to time, LOL), a good idea would be to share intel from our visits. We are getting excited about the trip and the chance to live south of the border for a while. Having other vets down there will make life interesting for me. Let me know how you feel about it. And if you have any info or questions, feel free to ask. I have been stockpiling info like made as has my wife. Hit me up via email if you want: [email protected].

Tony

Hi i'm not a US Military but did 25 years in the Canadian Armed Force , and  desire to retire in Ecuador not quite sure where but will be there in Feb for a two week vacation to visit the country.
Michael

Still considering, got a couple of years minimum before we could pull the trigger, but would like to visit next year if the economy plays along.

thanks for sharing :D

Female retired Canadian Air Force member here , travelling to Ecuador Jan 2012, will be based primarily in Cuenco for eight weeks, to research possibility of permanent move.

Are you considering travelling/exploring prior to a permanent move?

Isn't retirement GREAT!?

Deborah.